

Hampton Historical Society Annual Meeting - October 15, 2023

The 2023 Annual Meeting of the Hampton Historical Society was opened at 1:01 PM by President, Lori Cotter. She welcomed the group and reminded them that only members vote during the business portion of the meeting.

Lori asked for a motion to approve the 2022 annual meeting minutes. These could be found in the program, had been published in the newsletter and had been posted on the website. Mike Compos moved, and Ed Baechtold seconded approval of minutes - passed.

Then Lori explained the work of the bylaws committee (consisting of Lori Cotter, Mary Ann Nelligan, Mike Compos, Molly St. Jeanne and Betty Moore). She described the changes that were being brought forward including adding the mailing address, updates in technology, and committee changes to reflect what is currently in effect. These changes were included in the most recent HHS newsletter, were posted on the website and a copy was available for review at the program. Mike Compos moved and Pat Bushway seconded acceptance of the bylaws – passed.

The program was turned over to Amy Hansen, chair of the nominating committee. She thanked members of her committee - Ben Moore and Karen Raynes. Two new nominees were voted on for a three-year term – Tracy Dewhurst and Heidi Taracena. Slate of new trustees moved by Betty Moore and seconded by Mike Compos – passed. Their bios were included with the minutes.

The following board members agreed to continue for another three-year term: Ed Baechtold, Pat Bushway, and Rich Hureau. Kathleen Hall and Betty Moore agreed to a one-year term. They were also approved by the membership as trustees.

Amy then turned the meeting back to Lori, who thanked outgoing board member, Mark McFarlin. Mark had served the Society for a number of years during his involvement with the Hampton Parks and Recreation Department.

Lori then asked for two members from the meeting to volunteer to be on the Nominating Committee for 2024 – Bill Keating and Betty Moore offered to serve in that capacity.

The business meeting adjourned at 1:15 PM. Lori introduced Jake Tumelaire from IAC (Independent Archaeology Consulting). In 2023, Jake did an evaluation of the 76 items in the Tuck Museum's native American collection and wove his findings into a program: *The Edgerly Farm Site: Pre-Contact Native American Archaeology and the HHS Artifact Assemblage.* The bulk of the collection was found during archaeology digs by students of Harold Fernald, history teacher at WHS.

The trustees met briefly after the program to elect the following officers for the 2023-2024 year. President – Lori Cotter, Vice President – Patricia Bushway, Treasurer – Ed Baechtold; Co-Secretary Amy Hansen and Mary Ann Nelligan. Respectfully submitted, Betty Moore, Acting Secretary